Skip to main content

Concurso de Teses e Dissertações

Important Dates

  • Paper submission: 02/05/2021 16/05/2021
  • Author Notification: 06/06/2021 16/06/2021
  • Camera-ready version: 27/06/2021
  • Event Date: 16/08/2021 a 20/08/2021 (online)


The fourth edition of the Thesis and Dissertation Contest of the Brazilian Symposium on Computer Networks and Distributed Systems (CTD@SBRC 2021) aims to select and award the best doctoral theses and the best master's dissertations in the area. We invite researchers from the areas of computer networks and distributed systems to submit an article writing in summary form the results obtained in their theses and dissertations completed, defended, and approved in the period from January 1, 2020, to December 31, 2020. The event will award the three best theses and the three best dissertations.

Topics of Interest

The topics of the theses and dissertations must be related to any subject in the area of Computer Networks and Distributed Systems.

Instructions for Authors

Articles must be written in Portuguese or English as an abstract and must be limited to a maximum of 8 (eight) pages, including figures, references, and attachments. The formatting of the text must follow the SBC standard (

The author must make clear the contribution of the work to the area and its originality. The text must include, necessarily, the title of the thesis or dissertation, the names of the author, the advisor and co-advisor (s) with the respective affiliations, abstract, characterization of the problem and motivation, objectives and contributions, related works, results obtained, and by-products of the work (such as scientific articles, patents, registered programs, as well as any other elements that make it possible to qualify the work).

Submissions will be made through the JEMS system

Each submission must contain three files: (1) summary of up to 8 pages of work, (2) minutes of the defense of the work, and (3) full text of the thesis or dissertation. The defense minutes must state explicitly that the candidate defended and had the work approved and must inform the location, the date of the defense, the name of the supervisor, and the board. You must send all the documents in PDF format.

The Thesis and Dissertation Contest proceedings will be published on the SBC OpenLib Platform (SOL), the digital library maintained by the Brazilian Computer Society (SBC), and free of charge to the society. 


Each work will be evaluated by at least three evaluation committee members, who will analyze the material submitted by the authors. After the review and analysis phase, a discussion stage will be held among the evaluation committee members for the selection of accepted papers.

he selected works will be published in the Symposium Proceedings, and the main author must present his / her work in the SBRC CTD. For award purposes, the evaluation committee will take into account the complete work, including the scientific and technological results already generated and potential, as well as the impact in the area of computer networks and distributed systems (presentation at SBRC will not be considered in the award. However, all selected papers must be presented at the CTD). During the SBRC 2021 social event, the organizers will anounce the three (3) best works in each category.

Technical Program Committee

  • Alberto Schaeffer-Filho - Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul
  • Andrey Brito - Universidade Federal de Campina Grande
  • Atslands Rocha - Universidade Federal do Ceará
  • Carlos Kamienski - Universidade Federal do ABC
  • Cristiano Both - Universidade do Vale do Rio dos Sinos
  • Daniel Batista - Universidade de São Paulo
  • Daniel Guidoni - Universidade Federal de São João del-Rei
  • Danielo G. Gomes - Universidade Federal do Ceará
  • Denis Rosário - Universidade Federal do Pará
  • Edmundo Madeira - Universidade Estadual de Campinas
  • Eduardo Nakamura - Universidade Federal do Amazonas
  • Fernando Matos - Universidade Federal da Paraíba
  • Flavio Silva - Universidade Federal de Uberlândia
  • Francisco Brasileiro - Universidade Federal de Campina Grande
  • Geraldo Pereira - Universidade de Brasília
  • Guilherme Maia - Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais
  • Heitor Ramos - Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais
  • Islene Garcia - Universidade Estadual de Campinas
  • Juliano Wickboldt - Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul
  • Leandro Villas - Universidade Estadual de Campinas
  • Leobino Sampaio - Universidade Federal da Bahia
  • Luciano Paschoal Gaspary - Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul
  • Luis Henrique Costa - Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro
  • Luiz Fernando Bittencourt - Universidade Estadual de Campinas
  • Luiz Henrique Correia - Universidade Federal de Lavras
  • Marcelo Rubinstein - Universidade do Estado do Rio de Janeiro
  • Michele Nogueira - Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais
  • Raimundo Jose de Araujo Macedo - Universidade Federal da Bahia
  • Rodolfo Meneguette - Universidade de São Paulo
  • Rodrigo Miani - Universidade Federal de Uberlândia
  • Ronaldo Ferreira - Universidade Federal de Mato Grosso do Sul
  • Sidney Lucena - Universidade Federal do Estado do Rio de Janeiro
  • Thiago Henrique Silva - Universidade Tecnológica Federal do Paraná


Leandro Aparecido Villas

Leandro Aparecido Villas

Federal University of Campinas
Thesis and Dissertation Contest Coordinator

Michele Nogueira Lima

Michele Nogueira Lima

Federal University of Minas Gerais
Thesis and Dissertation Contest Coordinator

Diamond Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors